What does “noona” or “oppas” mean?

I have been getting a few comments on what does “noona” or “oppas” mean?

I hope this helps.

“hyung” (males call older males)….”oppa” (females call older males)…just means that the person is an older “friend” or male…

“nuna” [noona] (males call older female)….”unnie” (females call older female)…just means the female is older….

“dong-seng” (older person calls younger person)…female or male…if the other person is younger..he/she is “dong-seng”…

~ by balloonz on October 30, 2007.

35 Responses to “What does “noona” or “oppas” mean?”

  1. Thanks (:
    This really helped me.
    Everyone kept saying ‘oppa’ or noona’ and it made me think that it was some kind of expression – haha.

  2. Regarding the last one “dong-seng” …
    ..so it doesn’t matter if the person is older or younger, its still ‘dong-seng’ ??

  3. For dong-seng, the older person would called the younger person dong-seng.

  4. Thanks, that helps.

  5. also, oppa can mean a boyfriend (i’m not sure if its ONLY if he’s older) so some girls call older guys hyung too, especially if the guy already has a girlfriend

  6. actually, Hyung is only boys that calls older boys. (._.) If you’re a girl and you call an older boy Hyung you’re just gonna be a laugh at. ._.

  7. Oh, I’m Korean By the way.

  8. i thought unnie meant like older sis
    and oppa older bro…

  9. You wrote that:

    “dong-seng” (older person calls younger person)…female or male…if the other person is younger..he/she is “dong-seng”

    I hae a question is there any specific word for vad older males calls a younger female? Or is dong-seng the onlu word?

  10. Thank you!! =] Helped A LOT.

  11. i know this is off topic but sometimes i also hear the word shi i think thats how its spelled like they say the name xx – shi what does it mean

  12. sshi means miss/mr as far as I know. it’s a polite noun used for either males or females.

  13. oh that rlly helped me alot (Yoo Yen is my korean name)i’m half

  14. when do you call someone hyung-nim?

  15. Thank u for teaching me

  16. Does anybody know what LED means? I’s said in Big Bang’s songs Lollipop 1 and 2 so…..

  17. thanks, that sorted out my dilema :)

  18. thanks a lot….i’m watching the korean show “You’re Beautiful” and i kept on reading on the subtitle the ‘oppa’, ‘hyung’ & ‘hyung-nim’…i didn’t know the meaning of the words because i’m from the philippines….this really helped me…thank you again…=)

  19. Annyeong haseyo! I have a couple of questions.

    1. How do you say: “oppa”, “honey”, “darling” and “chingu” in plural in korean?
    Sorry for mixing romanization with english on some of the phrases :/ But I think honey is juhgiya, and darling is yobo? But I don’t know what it is called in plural :(

    2. And how you say: “I love …” (not necessarily regarding a person)?

    3. But and if it is regarding a person in other cases then how do you say it? I mean do you have to say “I love YOU Changmin”(for example) or is there a way of only saying “I love Changmin”? Because “saranghaeyo” means “I love you” right? then if I say: “saranghaeyo Changmin” doesn’t it mean “I love YOU Changmin”? So how can I just say “I love Changmin”?

    4. Which one of following phrases are more formal: Kamsahamnida or Komapsumnida?
    And is there a shortening for both of these, if so, what is it?

    I hope someone can answer me this, maybe a native korean speaker, for more quaranteed response. Kamsahamnida/Komapsumnida(which ever is the most formal I mean =D)
    //waiting patiently, Diana

  20. how about agasshi, ahjussi and ahjummi? what is goodbye in korea?

  21. hello bgez…
    if I’m not mistaken, i think, agashhi is for young lady, ahjussi is for older guy that you’re not related to, it’s like Sir in English, and its ahjumma, its for older lady that you’re not related to, Ma’am in English…
    I’m not so sure if I’ve answered everything correctly because I’m not really Korean…

  22. thanks guys it realy helps me a lot. :D

  23. thanks it helped me a lot in understanding the conversation

  24. what is the meaning of nae ahjummi mun punja imnida?

  25. ahjussi is uncle and ahjumma is aunt

  26. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the
    blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  27. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m planning
    to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something
    unique. P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  28. I just like the valuable info you provide for your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at again here regularly. I am moderately sure I’ll be informed
    many new stuff right right here! Best of luck for the following!

  29. Just desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity on your publish is just nice and
    i can think you’re a professional on this subject. Fine along with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with approaching post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  30. Thanks for sharing such a nice opinion, paragraph is pleasant,
    thats why i have read it entirely

  31. Hey! I understand this is sort of off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does managing a well-established website such as yours require a massive amount work?
    I’m brand new to running a blog however I do write in my journal everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own
    experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips
    for brand new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  32. You are so cool! I do not believe I’ve read something like this before.
    So good to find somebody with some unique thoughts
    on this topic. Seriously.. thank you for starting this up.
    This website is one thing that’s needed on the internet, someone with a little originality!

  33. Your style is so unique compared to other people I’ve read
    stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this site.

  34. Link exchange is nothing else but it is only placing
    the other person’s blog link on your page at proper place and other person
    will also do similar for you.

  35. I am not certain where you are getting your info,
    but great topic. I needs to spend a while finding out
    more or understanding more. Thank you for
    wonderful info I was looking for this info
    for my mission.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,059 other followers

